jump to navigation

Beginning of a Day, Beginning of a Year January 3, 2014

Posted by Christine Coleman in Outdoors.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Sunrises and sunsets are two of my favorite things to see. Each one has its own uniqueness: colors ranging from yellows and oranges to pinks and purples with any variety of shades in between, enhanced in any variety of ways if there are clouds. There’s a promise in each sunrise, for a unique day ahead, while each sunset brings its own closure.

While I certainly am no photographer, I do enjoy snapping pictures of sunrises and sunsets with my phone or, if I happen to have it with me, my camera. So when I saw the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge was on beginnings, I knew just what I’d post.

January sunrise

Since it was so clear overnight, it was incredibly cold this morning. I kept an eye on the window as the sky began lightening before 7 a.m., wondering if the -14F temperature would bring about a nice sunrise.

As you can see, it did. No filters on the photo and no editing — this is how it looked from my snow-covered deck in the brief few seconds I could stand to be out there without a coat to snap a few pictures from my phone.

A January 3 sunrise — the beginning of a day, the beginning of a year, a time filled with promise in all that cold air as the days begin to lengthen ever so slightly.

Comments»

1. Cris - January 3, 2014

Of course, you’re a photographer. You may not be a professional photographer, but you’re still a photographer. I’m not a professional photographer, either, but I’m still a photographer, just like you.

Come and see my weekly beginning photo challenge:
http://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/weekly-photo-challenge-beginning/

Christine Coleman - January 3, 2014

I think of myself more as a writer who will take photos when things catch my eye instead of a photographer, as I have friends who are “real” photographers to me! But I do understand what you mean. Thanks for the comment.

Your photos are great! You’re a “real” photographer! Glad to see some springtime photos too. I also am a huge baseball fan, although the other Missouri team, and have a Cardinals blog at http://aaronmilesfastball.com/

Cris - January 4, 2014

Thank you for your compliment. I appreciate that.

I like the Cardinals, too, although I don’t follow them much. I do pull for them, though. I was upset when Pujols ditched them for big bucks. It seems the only loyalty there is in baseball is to money.

I’m old enough to remember when baseball was more of a sport than a business. I’m also old enough to remember when the players pretty much got ripped off. But I think it’s gone too far the other direction.

Your name caught my eye because I had a first cousin by your name. Sadly, she passed. My Coleman line came through the Lake of the Ozarks area, before it was Lake of the Ozarks. I’m very interested in family history and genealogy.

Thank you again for your comments. 🙂

2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning | A mom's blog - January 3, 2014

[…] Beginning of a Day, Beginning of a Year | Christine Coleman […]

3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning (2) | What's (in) the picture? - January 4, 2014

[…] Beginning of a Day, Beginning of a Year | Christine Coleman […]

4. There is always a new beginning | Words 'n Pics... - January 4, 2014

[…] Beginning of a Day, Beginning of a Year | Christine Coleman […]

5. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning | Stefan Praetorius Naurin - January 4, 2014

[…] Beginning of a Day, Beginning of a Year | Christine Coleman […]

6. The Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning « blogagaini - January 4, 2014

[…] Beginning of a Day, Beginning of a Year | Christine Coleman […]


Leave a Reply

