jump to navigation

Action Feels Good January 2, 2014

Posted by Christine Coleman in Exercise, Goals.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

It would have been so easy to just go home after work tonight. That’s what I’ve been doing for months anyway, so it’s become my habit. Besides, it’s really cold. My back felt stiff from shoveling snow yesterday. I was tired. I could have stayed later at work, as I have so very much to do there in the next five weeks.

take-actionInstead, I took action.

I went to the Two Rivers YMCA (to use my membership for once, instead of giving a monthly “donation” via the online payment system), was surprised at the number of empty parking places in the lot on Jan. 2, was further surprised at the few number of people on the walking track and only one person on the bikes adjacent to it. So, instead of my plan to walk on the track — I’d assumed it would be the typical Jan. 2 crowd and everything would be in use — I went to one of the bikes. Yes, these are the bikes that each have their own TV and today I found a real secret to making the time go by quickly: stumble across the movie “Moneyball” about an hour into it.

So I was distracted as I rode but I pushed myself nonetheless, and thoroughly enjoyed seeing the 20-game winning streak part of the movie (and of course appreciated watching Brad Pitt). It reminded me for the second time today of my previous fascination with the Oakland A’s teams of 2001 to 2006 or so (the first reminder was in reading about Mark Mulder signing a minor league contract with the Angels, and recalling his best performance as a Cardinal).

But, even with the distraction, it felt good to be there and felt good to actually do something.

My goal for the month of January is to lose 10 pounds, and to go to the Y at least three times a week. Which is why, even on a day when it would have been so easy to find so many excuses not to go, I didn’t.

I went.

The only way 2014 is going to be better for me is by me doing something about it … one day at a time.

Comments»

1. linda - January 3, 2014

nice!

2. Cheryl - January 3, 2014

just wait till you get to the point of it feeling weird if you don’t go to the Y. and i believe you will get to this point ๐Ÿ™‚

Christine Coleman - January 3, 2014

Thank you! I know who to reach out to whenever I need a pep talk too! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

