jump to navigation

Looking back, looking ahead December 31, 2010

Posted by Christine Coleman in Goals.
trackback

The year is ending in less than 12 hours, with a bright and shiny new one on the horizon. I’m a big believer in clearing the slate, whether it’s on New Year’s Day or my birthday. And 2010 is a year I’m glad to leave behind.

There were good parts to the year, as there always are. I trained for and ran a 10K race. I wrote more this year, expanding my horizons into blogging and baseball writing, plus wrote a novel during November. I read 24 books. (Ever since I read the list that Stephen King had at the back of his book “On Writing,” I’ve kept track annually.) I went to plenty of baseball games, both River Bandits and Cardinals, and added a new ballpark to my list of ones I’ve visited (Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City). I enjoyed going to many of my high school football team’s games, especially in the playoffs, as they marched toward the state championship game.

But, overall, I didn’t like this year very much. Disappointing is the word that best describes it. Running the 10K race led to a hip injury that derailed my exercising, which also led me to gain weight … I don’t really want to go into the details about my frustrations with the year. I’m glad it’s ending, period.

As part of clearing the slate annually, I always set goals for the New Year. Throughout the past couple of weeks, I’ve been thinking off and on about what I want those to be. And yesterday I decided on a word instead of a series of resolutions or goals. Productive.

That’s one thing I don’t necessarily feel like I was in 2010, or at least not as productive as I wanted to be. (I have gotten so very good at being lazy and wasting time, much more so than previously.) So I am going to be productive in 2011.

I’m going to be productive by writing regularly. I’ve realized writing about baseball is something I love, so I’m going to blog about the Cardinals again. (New blog alert – coming very soon!)

I’m going to be productive by losing weight. 2010 was one big excuse. No more. In fact, I went to my first Weight Watchers meeting in seven years two days ago.

I’m going to be productive by getting back into exercising. It’s amazing how quickly all motivation can go away after an injury, and how difficult it is to recapture. But I feel so much better when I do exercise, which is what I need to remember in the next couple weeks as I work to combat the inertia and crazy-busy time at work and get back into a real fitness routine again. Running is something I want to do again also.

And the list goes on about ways I want to be productive in 2011. It’s always easy, especially on Dec. 31, to say all the things I want to change as I clear the slate. All that really matters is action. And I can only do that one day, one hour, at a time, once Jan. 1 arrives in a few hours.

May it be a productive and fulfilling year ahead for all. Happy New Year!

Comments»

1. Laura Renegar - December 31, 2010

Happy New Year! Hope it’s more productive than you dreamed and more fun than you can imagine.

Christine Coleman - January 1, 2011

Thank you, Laura! Hope your 2011 is equally as good!

2. Bob Netherton - December 31, 2010

Sorry to read that your 2010 didn’t quite turn out as you had wished. I hope that 2011 is a much better year.

I’m very glad to read that you will be returning to Cardinals blogging. I’ve enjoyed your contributions at Baseball Digest and miss your articles at Cardinals Diamond Diaries.

Happy New Year!

Christine Coleman - January 1, 2011

Thank you, Bob! You know how much I enjoy your work as well. Here’s to a great 2011 – and hopefully we can meet up in person somewhere in these next 12 months!

3. linda - January 1, 2011

Here’s to a productive and energizing 2010!

Christine Coleman - January 1, 2011

Thank you! But I think you meant 2011! (Always SO hard to remember to write the correct year when it starts!!!) I so appreciate all your support and your friendship.

4. A fresh new year « Christine Coleman - January 1, 2011

[…] I mentioned thinking of the start of a year like a blank slate yesterday, this photo is more how I see the dawning of 2011: sunny, pristine, untouched and unspoiled. As the […]


Leave a Reply

