jump to navigation

Ready to write October 31, 2010

Posted by Christine Coleman in Novel-writing month, Writing.
trackback

It’s just a couple of hours until Nov. 1 is officially here. If the month didn’t begin on a Monday, perhaps I would stay up and kick of National Novel Writing Month at midnight. However, since I have to work tomorrow, I will mark the start of the month by sleeping … and getting up at 4 a.m. to start writing instead. And I’m definitely excited about it.

Perhaps I haven’t done as much planning as I would like, but perhaps I never would do a lot of planning anyway – at least not a complete outline with chapter summaries written out like I read about on the NaNoWriMo blog here. I’ve continued to jot down notes for my novel (which for now is called “Forty”) and I’ve been thinking about the story a great deal. I have a lot of ideas, even if not all committed to paper or laptop, but am waiting now for the moment to arrive when I  can start officially writing – and keeping track of that number of words.

My first year I aimed for, and reached, a goal of 60,000 words. That seemed easier to remember than the 1,700-whatever words technically needed per day to reach 50,000 words in 30 days. (I’m a writer, not a numbers person.) And 60,000 words is my goal for this year too. A nice, round, slightly overachieving kind of number.

Maybe I should get to bed now, though, because 4 a.m. will come very quickly. And when that alarm goes off, writing time for NaNoWriMo 2010 will officially be here!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

