jump to navigation

Slow and steady April 29, 2010

Posted by Christine Coleman in Exercise.
trackback

Ben Butterworth Parkway, 4-28-10

My running is coming along gradually. I’d been a little sidetracked the past few weeks, not keeping to my three-times-a-week schedule. A look at the calendar this week and realizing how quickly July (with the Firecracker Run 10K on July 4 and the Bix on July 24) will be here got me to literally pick up the pace.

When it comes to running, though, time is needed to build up endurance. Progress has to be slow and steady – it’s the only way I’m going to succeed without injury. And I’ve been sidetracked enough with injuries in the past seven years of running!

Yet I also know I have to push myself to keep building up. There was an article in the St. Louis Globe-Democrat this week about Cardinals relief pitcher Trever Miller, an avid runner. It included great running advice, and this quote guided my running this week: “It’s jogging if it doesn’t hurt. If you want to be a runner, it’s got to hurt a little bit.” So I’ve worked harder to see how much I can do. 

At first it seems easy and I feel great, confident. Last night I ran a mile nonstop for the first time since last summer, and only took a very short walking break before running another nonstop mile. About three minutes into that second mile, I was looking at my watch already. That wasn’t going to help. Time for running’s mental game. So I turned to my inner Chris Carpenter once again – how would he handle this? The perfect situation was right there: he pitched Tuesday night and again was not dominating like in 2009. But he settled in, settled down, continued on and made it through six innings (and was the winning pitcher on his 35th birthday!) And I too settled in and just kept going, one foot in front of the other and one deep breath after another, until I finished that mile.

It always helps that there are friendly people down along the riverfront. Usually it’s the slower runners like me who say hello and smile – the faster ones typically can’t be bothered. But last night, one older and very fast gentleman did wave and say hi as he zipped past me. That gave me a little boost, since it was about halfway through that second mile. Vanity sometimes pushes me along too. I saw a high school friend of mine as I was starting out last night. During the second mile, I could see she was up ahead and we would pass each other once more. So I tried to run as quickly as I could, plus focused on trying to not look like I was dying (even if I felt otherwise) as we said hello.

When I finished last night, it was a nice sense of accomplishment. I can’t always necessarily say that I like running, but I love when I get done – especially on days like yesterday when I’ve pushed myself and made it through. Now, onward and upward from here!

Comments»

1. lsmurphy - April 29, 2010

I wish I had your determinatin. You can do it!

Christine Coleman - April 29, 2010

Thank you!

2. linda - April 29, 2010

I’d like to say all I need is an LS (my version of your internal Chris Carpenter) but I don’t think it would have the same effect. Your ability to push yourself is inspiring. And real. The whole “vanity” motivation made me laugh as that is so true.

Christine Coleman - April 29, 2010

If you want to have your inner motivator, you can – you know it! I knew you’d get a kick out of the vanity part. 🙂


Leave a Reply

